2003 Tacoma Manual shift problem

I'm pretty new to the Tacoma so I'm not sure if it's a common issue or not. When I shift from 3rd to 4th it always hits the 4x4 shifter and try's to engage it into 4hi. I even took the knob of of the 4x4 shifter. Does anyone else have this problem and if so what are some fixes? Thank you!

That's what I call the Dukes of Hazard feature... Your truck lets you know when it's time to hit the dirt and outrun the cops

That is a very strange problem. Unfortunately, I don't have a good answer for you. Try taking the boots off the shifters, and looking at their bases. Then see if their bases are loose and make sure everything is screwed down.

It's like the shifters are to close together. The 4x4 shifter seems like it's directly under the trans shifter. It's slightly to the bottom left of it. It's almost impossible to change from 3rd to 4th with the 4x4 knob on the shifter itself. I took both boots off yesterday but haven't really had a chance to inspect everything really good! I did order a new shifter seat and cap because I heard that helps smooth out the shifting.i just bought the truck a few days ago so I'm trying to work out all the kinks it has.

Okay James,
I have done some research for you. My wife and I have an old 1999 Tacoma Extra-Cab SR5 4x4 V6 with a 5-Speed manual transmission, which we use as our house repair truck so it is a very useful tool. Yesterday, I got in the driver's seat of our Tacoma and looked at the location of both shifters, which will give you a basis on how they should sit. When the transfer case was in 2 wheel drive, and I went through all of the gears on the transmission, the closest the transmission lever came to the transfer case lever is about an inch when shifting from 4th gear to 5th gear. The transmission lever does not make and should not make any contact with the transfer case lever at all.
What drivetrain and engine are in your Tacoma?