2023 6spd manual grinds

23TxTaco

Hi,
I have a 2023 V6 4x4 Tacoma with the RC62 6spd manual. I bought it new with 12 miles on it, 8 of which my dad did test driving it before I drove 3 hours to get it.
Long story short, since new it will clunk when going into 1st from a stop...3/5 times.
It will refuse (grinds) the gear when you are rolling 1-2 mph and push in the clutch and try to get it in 1st...you have to put it in 2nd then 1st...it is fine everytime then. Going from 6th to 3rd at 25mph around a yield grinds 2/5 times unless you shift 4th with clutch still in....then it will go into 3rd just fine...everytime.
I was told to try to change the gear oil to a gl4 conventional like Coastal 80w90 from my farm supply. It has Redline MT 90 in it now..it is the same as it was on the factory fluid.

I have been driving manuals for 25 years and never had one do this. I've had a 1999 Ford Powerstroke 6spd 331k still on the factory clutch when sold...just new Mercon V every year. And clutch bleed every 3 years
1995 Ranger 5spd 413k miles factory clutch when sold...just new Mercon V every year and clutch bleed every 3 years.
Currently have 2010 Powerstroke 6spd manual that's been perfect.
What is the issue with the RC62 manual?
Best fluid? It grinds on the Toyota fluid and MT90 when you don't grab 2nd and 4th first.
Dustin

Sounds like bad synchros, or something screwed up with shift mech.. With all the automatic transmissions today, it's odd to even have a manual. I'm surprised they still know how to build them.

My 3rd gen 6mt was kinda funky for the first couple thousand miles or so. 120k miles later it is fine. Keep driving it like a break in period.

Love the auto in this tacoma. Its spot on for every road condition, so smooth. My tundra auto was good to. Long as you adhere to their fluid drain and change schedule, these asin auto's are bulletproof. Never had an issue with my tundra auto in the nearly 300k miles i owned it.