Tacoma 2007 V4 Cylinder 2 misfire

mando0721

Hey all, I’m new to the Tacoma world. I finally purchased my own Tacoma. A 2007 v4 with 180,000 miles. Has had only one owner the whole time. The guy took it to get maintenance every 4 months, did a car fax report to confirm it.

Purchased it a month ago and about 2 weeks ago the engine light came on. Went to autozone and got a p0302, cylinder 2 misfire. To fix the problem, it told me to change the spark plugs or the ignition coil for cylinder 2, which I did. Seemed to have improve the situation but it continued with the problem. Went to the mechanic, and they did a compression test and cylinder 2 was fine. I changed out both oxygen sensors and still have the issue.

I decided to take it to a Toyota dealer and they’re charging $190 for a diagnostic charge. Took it in on Friday and they checked it out all day Friday and Saturday and are still troubleshooting.

Service advisor said that I might need a new short block engine and that either the crankshaft or camshaft has a small leak (not sure which one) but I highly doubt it. I’m thinking it’s an electrical problem or a bad gasket. Perhaps coolant leaking?

The misfire happens intermittently, not all the time. And at most, I can drive it at a low speed. It happens a lot when I’m going past 70 miles an hour but has happened at low speeds at times. So yeah, the truck is currently at the Toyota dealer. We’ll see what they tell me tomorrow. Any ideas what it could be?

Thank you in advance!

These trucks don't even have V4's. Last I knew they had the 2.7 inline 4, but to answer the question it does sound like bad spark plugs, or the plug ignition coils. Both are common to fail with that mileage if not replaced at one time.

Well.....I can see why its running poorly. Its missing 2 cylinders...... o_O

Do you have all the Service records. If so, take a study on them. Look for engine work on the ignition system. Not just oil changes......